Notices

I Need to Change

Old 10-28-2018, 12:24 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I Need to Change

I've been drinking heavily really since college about 10 years ago. Pretty much all beer and also some wine, pretty much never hard alcohol, not that it matters. I'm just tired of it. So, if you don't mind me ranting, I have to get some things off of my chest...

I imagine every persons addiction is different, so here's some details of where I am. I do not drink around the clock, but my habit is to come home from work and "wind down" by drinking beer. I will easily put back a 6 pack and also add some wine on top of that some nights. The mornings suck, but I shake it off and go about it the same way again the next day and repeat. Weekends are the same but the drinking starts at lunch. I do go some days and sometimes several days without drinking and I feels great. It's puzzling that I am aware of how good it feels being sober but go right back into the same routine.

I have to break this cycle, its not sustainable and not who I want to be anymore. I fully realize that not only is this "just" a habbit for me I have to break, but I have to start facing life's problems without alcohol. It's been a crutch for me. Stressed out? Have a beer... Something bothering me? Life's not going my way? Crack open that beer. It has to stop.

I have a family and a young child, if I don't straighten up I am only going to be letting them down eventually. I know quitting will make me a better husband, father, and overall better person. I did finally open up to my wife about my decision and of course she is fully supportive. Thankfully I haven't done anything while drinking that has caused any hurt on my family and my marriage is strong.