Notices

Starting again

Old 07-28-2018, 08:40 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Starting again

Hello folks. I'm ten days sober, after drinking for almost two years after I'd successfully been sober for four.

I'm 48, and a single dad to three kids. I had my first drink when I was 15. When I was 42, I collapsed/passed out in front of my kids one night playing a board game with them. The next day I quit drinking. It was terrifying, very hard, but the rewards were so great. My health returned, I worked out every day, was so happy. I started learning to be a good, present parent.

Then four years later, I found myself engaged to a narcissist. I don't know how the truth eluded me. I was so ready to have a complete family. But two weeks before the wedding, my ex got in a rage and became violent. The kids were sleeping. I made a choice to end it and cancel the wedding so my kids wouldn't have to endure any abuse, but my soul was shattered. At the same time, my dad got the news he had a year left to live, w pancreatic cancer.

I slowly crept back to drinking, and by the end of that year I got my first dui. I am so thankful I didn't kill myself or anyone else. I could barely see the road and have no memory until waking up w the airbags deployed.

I've had to replace a car, pay massive fines, and all the rest that goes with probation, and still had zero courage to quit again. Ten days ago I finally took the leap.

I think of drinking as a desert. It feels great when you're hiking in the desert and you feel alive, but the desert can kill you. Sobriety is an oasis. It nourishes you. I keep telling myself this but am finding the benefits of recovery are a lot slower to show up, this second time around. Bad headaches, tiredness, no weight loss yet. But I do feel hopeful and a lot more calm, and of course feel like a better father to my boys once again.

Thanks for reading the novel.
Old 07-28-2018, 09:02 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR and well done on your decision to get sober.