Cheated for a Rehab Romance

Old 07-24-2018, 08:52 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Cheated for a Rehab Romance

Hello. This is my first time posting on this website, and I am truly grateful to have a place to do so. Recently, my boyfriend of 3 years went to a rehab care center that was 10 hours away. He is only 21 years old and a binge drinker. He definitely put me through a lot throughout our relationship to say the least. I was so proud of him for agreeing to go to rehab, although I understandably did not hear from him during the two weeks he was there. When he returned home from rehab, he seemed like a new person. He said he forgot about everything and everyone when he was there and started over. However, he did say he only went to rehab because of his family and is not an alcoholic. In addition, he said he met someone when he was there... She happened to be an employee at the rehab facility, and I am not sure if she is a recovering alcoholic or not. Ultimately, he cheated on me. After only knowing this girl for three weeks, he asked her to move in with him (which I was supposed to do once he got home from rehab). She quit her job at the rehab center and moved 10 hours away to live with him. I am currently feeling tremendously hurt because I do not understand for I have stood by his side for the past 3 years. She has been living with him for about a week now, and he appears to be happy. He says he still wants to be friends and have me in his life, but it has already been so different since he returned home; I feel like he does not need me anymore. He has been such a big part of my life, and I have been a big part of his. He would always tell me he cannot wait to have a family with me and make me his wife. I keep on hoping he will realize what he lost and miss me, but I do not know what to do. What are the chances of their relationship working out? How can he do this to me after everything we have been through? I appreciate any help for I am trying my best to unde