Notices

Fatty Liver Diagnosis, Waiting for See Heptologist

Old 07-18-2018, 12:41 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Fatty Liver Diagnosis, Waiting for See Heptologist

So on my 50th birthday last week I was diagnosed with fatty liver following an ultrasound a month ago. I'm waiting to see heptologist for a fibroscan (or to arrange a biopsy I guess if that's not possible).

No real surprise if I'm honest with myself, although I somehow thought it wouldn't happen to me. I wish I'd read this forum and other information many years ago rather than keeping my head in the sand. Anyway, that's all water under the bridge.

At the moment I've having mood swings between "wait and see" and "scared to death".

I've been steady-drinking throughout the day every day for at least 2-3 years. Rarely really feeling drunk but always with alcohol in my stream. I binged in my late teens and early 20's. I've drunk at least some alcohol most days for about 30 years with a few breaks along the way.

Since I got the news I tapered over 5 days and am about to hit my first 24 hour period AF very shortly as I post this.

I've noticed symptoms over a period that, now I've done research, could be 100% related to drinking. And more recently - especially since the diagnosis I've had pain in the area where my liver is. It's probably been there for a while but I suffer from IBS and persistent stomach pain in general, so I might have been rationalizing it away. But there are also heat flashes, hypertension, pins and needles, and some loss of skin sensation in areas,