Notices

Almost nine months sober but so much anxiety

Old 06-28-2018, 06:43 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Almost nine months sober but so much anxiety

Hi, I'm new here and glad to have found this community. I'm almost nine months sober (alcoholism) after after a 7 day detox program, a 23 day residential stay, and two weeks of outpatient (basically everything my insurance could cover before it ran out). I'm healthy, getting my life back on track, and have a loving supportive wife. I don't feel any urge to drink and have no desire to go back to the seizures and misery I was enduring. The last year before I got treatment was hell. Shaking, sweats, loss of body control, seizures, wrecking relationships, lying, effing up my career...all the classic alcoholic horribleness. I voluntarily got help. Although I'm not technically in AA, I do follow elements of the program. I do not have a sponsor, but I do have lots of support. On the surface, things look good. I am ever-vigilant of risking a relapse, and I know that while nine months is great, it's not a lifetime yet. In the past, I have always been a confident, fun guy...naturally alcohol helped that...but even before I started drinking, I didn't have too much anxiety. Since I got sober, I feel like I've been afflicted with bad social anxiety. I just want to stay at home, work, and hang out with my wife - where it's safe and comfortable. Going outside is a chore and crowds of people I don't know is often panic-inducing. Even family functions make me a little sweaty and awkward. I feel like I've lost the ability to just be 'ok'. I imagine that I'm always offending someone, or saying the wrong thing. I always feel that people can tell that I'm a recovering alcoholic. Maybe it's the PTSD from all the times I had to cover up my shakes, or the panic I would get when I know I didn't have enough booze in me to function properly. I'm not sure. All I know is that I'm severely uncomfortable in public. I can do normal things if I have to,