Notices

Spouse of Alcoholic

Old 06-27-2018, 03:48 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Spouse of Alcoholic

Good Evening,

I am rather new to the recovery/support society of alcoholism. My wife is an alcoholic and also bipolar. We have been married for 10 years which has had several situations involving alcohol and she has been to rehab a couple of times. However she is currently in a recovery center again and while doing some self reflection of my own, I always thought I support her through all of this, and the more I think, the less I can honestly say I have given it a fair shot before throwing in the towel. This last time I was pretty much dead set on leaving her, and honestly, I am not ready to throw the towel in until I can say I truly tried to recover also. At this point, I can't say I truly have. I have said I supported her, but how, by giving her flowers and visiting her... I never tried meeting, support groups or understanding the illness she deals with. I catch a lot of flack from people around me for dealing with her, but I love her to death. And for the sake of our family, and marriage, I truly want to give it a damn good shot before I say "I tried".
Old 06-27-2018, 03:56 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

Welcome to the family. I hope you have some support for yourself too. Your happiness matters.
Old 06-27-2018, 04:26 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

It is terrible to watch a loved one in alcoholism, though recovery all comes down to their will to do whatever it takes to get, and stay sober. There is nothing you can do to force or love them into sobriety.
I would highly suggest alanon meetings as well as to check out the family and friends of alcoholics section on this forum.
Old 06-27-2018, 04:47 PM
  # 4 (permalink)