Answer message or not - probably stupid question

Old 06-26-2018, 09:00 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Answer message or not - probably stupid question

Hello everyone

I haven't posted in a long time. After a difficult relationship and breakup with xabf I've done my best to maintain NC. And it worked wonders, it hasn't been too hard for me to move on with my life. Now I'm still amazed at all the nonsense, conflict and abuse I put up with when we were together.

Now, more than two years later I received a message from him, both on WhatsApp and Facebook. He just said "hi" but it made me very uncomfotable. I can imagine me replying, then a longer conversation, let's catch up and me getting tangled up by his needs and demands again.
My instinct is not to answer at all, is this a good idea?
Or is it better, braver, to give some kind of explanation?

This is probably a very stupid question but find I'm not too good at just ignoring someone - although I know I have every right not to want to have any contact with him ever again.
I have every right not to like him anymore!
Still, it feels strange to put up boundaries and protect myself. I feel like it's not very polite and that I'm being too difficult, respecting my feelings.
Can anyone relate?
Would love some advice.
Old 06-26-2018, 09:05 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
RIP Sweet Suki

I am not familiar with Whatsapp, but on Facebook, I would go into my settings and block him.

And...no, I would not acknowledge his messages.
Old 06-26-2018, 09:07 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

My gut instinct: (I'm not familiar with your back story) don't respond. I don't think you want to get back into that kind of territory with him again, do you? No, it's not a stupid question. If you were my daughter or anyone I care about, this is probably the same answer I'd give.
Old 06-26-2018, 09:15 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

No new contact, no new pain.
Old 06-26-2018, 09:30 PM
  # 5 (permalink)