Notices

My drunk story

Old 06-10-2018, 07:22 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

My drunk story

I’m determined to stay sober today and have been reading posts in these forums... some of them make me laugh, some make me cry... I’m just glad to have found a community of people who know what I’m going through and find “confessing my sins” in writing helps me stay focused on why I need to quit forever.

I thought I’d share my first experience being drunk, and it was enough to scare me to never have more than one or two drinks for the next 22+ years. My husband actually found the story amusing and for years when we would go out and have a drink with new friends (before I had a drinking problem I easily stopped after one or at most two girly cocktails that didn’t taste like booze) he’d tell me to tell his friends the story about why I didn’t drink much.

The summer break right after I graduated high school a group of friends decided to go to Tijuana to drink.... there the legal drinking age was 18 and we lived near a trolley station in San Diego so we would all take the trolley to the border, walk across, and go to a bar, afterwards everyone could crash at our house so nobody had to drive (boyfriend’s father died in a motorcycle accident, leaving him a 3 br house, guy in car that hit him was drunk so we knew no drunk driving).

I had tasted a sip of booze a few times like most teenagers had and hated it but I never got drunk before. It was the middle of the week and the bar had lady’s night, guys pay $5 and ladies only $1 all-you-can drink at the bar we went to... after a couple drinks everything I had tasted delicious so I was trying out all sorts of drinks... my boyfriend only had a couple drinks since he realized he’d be babysitting me... he had no idea I was getting totally plastered because I was alert, in a good mood, seemed to be walking fine, but the next day I was very hungover and told him I didn’t remember coming home.