Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > New to Addiction and Recovery? > Newcomers to Recovery
Reload this Page >

Just signed up,This is so hard to do. Im in Denial. i gotta fix this.

Notices

Old 05-16-2018, 04:19 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi everyone. My name is Chris. Im 28 years old. Im at a stand point in life that is now hindering my life,family and my job. Hard as it is to say im here asking for help. Ive given up.

This is gonna be a lil long but i feel like i should share it. Yes, Right now im a little half a 5th in on vodka typing this so keep that in mind. Im trying.

Back when i was about 21 i knew nothing about cars. (funny thing is im a mechanic now)and my mom needed some work done on her jeep. She pulled into a small shop and talked to a nice guy in his 50s and they made plans for him to fix it. Well me and him talked a little bit and i told him i always wanted to know how cars worked. He invited me to come by everyday and he would teach me how to fix things. After a few days i noticed he drank alot of beer. Ended up being a case of beer a day. I didnt think much of it. I didnt drink at the time. After a little time passed by he offered me he would teach me hands on if i would just buy him a case everyday. Which i thought was fair at the time since i didnt have to pay a ton to tech schools etc and i can learn from a "True mechanic" so to say. Well alot of time passed and i started drinking vodka. Turned into a pint a day which i didnt think much about it,ya know im young,dumb,strong and i can handle it.. Years later turned into much more.

Its been now id say 4 years or so,maybe a little less but its been a 5th mon-fri and a 1.75l bottle on the weekends if i dont add a 5th or a few tallboys beers. I go into work (hungover but at one time i learned to deal with it and overcome it). Now its really getting to me,dizzy spells,severe hydration,and just not being able to function.