Notices

"I don't need it anymore."

Old 05-10-2018, 08:33 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

"I don't need it anymore."

That's what I told myself this morning, as I poured the remainder of my $10 bottle of strawberry lemonade flavored vodka down the bathroom sink. My first time doing so? Hell no! In fact, I couldn't *count* all of the times I've done this before. The thing is, there's something different about this time. Nothing happened last night. I didn't have a push from anyone this time. I'm just tired of it.

I'm a college student in my mid 20's and two months ago I lost the person I loved more than anything. He left me. I held onto something from my past for a little too long, and it came up every time I drank. For over a year. Awful, isn't it? Why do we do that?

I graduate from college this month. I'm looking to continue my education elsewhere and I don't want to drag this pain along with me any further. Like many of you, my journey has been long and difficult and I've had so many reasons to give up but somehow I haven't. Maybe it's because I have so many more reasons *not* to give up.

I also just stumbled across one of the best quotes I've seen in a long time; "You can give up one thing to keep everything, or you can give up everything to keep one thing." Really struck a chord with me.

Well, here I am, and I'm going to try this again. No drinks today. Thanks for reading!!! Wish you all the best.
Old 05-10-2018, 09:02 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Glad you are here!
Old 05-10-2018, 09:07 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

welcome to SR. great job tossing that out.
Old 05-10-2018, 09:10 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Thank you!

I can not say that I will never drink again. I will not drink today, that is for sure. I want to give sobriety another shot and see how it goes. One thing that I do know, is that I have to take things day by day. Hour by hour. I'm going through a lot of mental turmoil as well at the moment, and I'm trying to learn from all of this craziness.