3 years ago

Old 05-05-2018, 07:21 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

3 years ago

I was getting ready to leave him. I remember the countdown to May 18th when I was supposed to move out to my very own apartment. And I remember the morning when I was squeezing a set of keys in my hand and the green key tag saying "Welcome to your new home."

I do not come on here anymore often, mainly for good reasons, meaning that my life is alcoholic drama free. But I had to learn to literary breathe again, and I am still learning, every single day.

I love my life the way it is now. Of course, there are always obstacles, but nothing is dramatic and chaotic as it was before. There is no one to throw a fit for every little stupidity (which I later realized was his way of controlling me and making me walk on eggshells). I became much stronger in these three years. Calmer and wiser (let us hope), I dare say. And more experienced. I live independently, doing what I want and love to do.

I still have no desire to be in a relationship. I just don't. The idea of dating seems to be very overwhelming. My dog is the only critter allowed to cause mess around, and he is technically speaking, an angel. He was only 9-10 months old when I moved out. And sometimes I look at him while he is sleeping peacefully and think how did I get so lucky.

And I still have to learn to trust people and my senses, but I guess it is a process, and people come and go. I might call my life fluid at the moment, and I am getting used to that fluidity of people and new situations and everyday changes, and it is not even scary anymore as I understand that the change just happens. Sometimes it affects me, but many times, I am only an observer.