Step 1 and grief

Old 04-11-2018, 03:02 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Step 1 and grief

This is my first post. I'm a newbie to ACA. In fact, while I've known I was an ACA for a few years now, I was very much in denial about how it impacts me now, in my adulthood. I hit my bottom about a week and a half ago, after developing such intense reactions of abandonment with my partner (a lot of co-dependance and enmeshment), that I reacted by breaking up with him over email. Over the past 8 months, he has been trying to establish more healthy boundaries, and I have been overcome with intense, overwhelming feelings of abandonment and despair, which just wouldn't subside. I also took on a strong hero role in my family, so I have been plagued with control, anxiety and productivity issues for many years. So, being overcome by such neediness and suicidal thoughts of despair was fairly new. These were all just repressed of course.

All that to say, I have FINALLY realized the ME in all this. My pain, my feelings, my behaviours, my reactions, my fears. Instead of blaming others. Finally. And sine last weekend (which was supposed to be our 9 year anniversary), i have been reading, writing and watching ACOA videos (Jerry Wise and Lisa Romano), and reading the ACA book.

Needless to say, I have finally understood what it means to come out of denial. And, wow. I have been overwhelmed with feelings of sadness, despair, unworthiness, anger and grief. I just cant stop writing. The overachiever in me says go, go, go (which I know isnt the best approach, but I feel such a need to get all this out), and I feel like I finally see my role in the alcoholic family, and have clued in to how manipulative and ongoing the dynamic is, how I was abused, how I unknowingly participated etc. Its not my fault, but wow, is it such an intense feeling of aha!