Learning to feel pleasure in myself

Old 04-07-2018, 09:20 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Learning to feel pleasure in myself

I’m very new to realizing that I am codependent. With my new awareness, I see the little parts of my life that can bring me pleasure if I allow it - if I decide I deserve it. I have an ABF whom I do not live with; however, I see the same patterns in the single parenting of my 2 sons. I’ve been scared to death since their birth that they won’t feel love so I indulge them and serve them. My home is their home. I am starting to take space for myself even if it’s just a small thing like playing the music I like or putting on headphones to block out their noise. I didn’t really do those things because “what if they need me and I don’t hear them”? They’re 11 and 14 - they’ll find me if the house is on fire. I’m making them serve themselves more and do what they’re capable of. I’m even looking into redecorating my bedroom so I love my space.
I’m grateful for This awareness. I think my life is about to get a lot better.
Old 04-07-2018, 09:50 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by 2kind4me View Post
I think my life is about to get a lot better.
I think so too, 2kind. Learning to take care of ourselves instead of always putting others first is really important.

Have you checked into this thread? You might find it really supportive as well as giving you some new ideas: https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums...an-you-do.html (I Challenge You To... 100 Happy Days. Can you do it?)
Old 04-07-2018, 11:07 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

That really is great 2Kind, not just for you but for your children too. They will grow up to be self-sufficient and responsible.
Old 04-07-2018, 11:59 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Community Greeter