Notices

Bachelorette party advice

Old 03-13-2018, 01:22 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Bachelorette party advice

I have a bachelorette party right about my 6 month mark of not drinking. I also would be a bridesmaid in the wedding but am going to be out of town.

Basically I feel I can’t mis the bachelorette party because I’m also missing the wedding. Not missing is fine with me on account that I’m sure I won’t drink, it’s more that I don’t want seem like a wet blanket by not going to her wedding and also not really par-taking in the typical shenanigans.

I don’t really want to go into the whys with her in front of the rest of the group who all know me as a partier and I don’t want to make myself so pre-conceived awkward that I end up sabotaging myself and act weird 😉

I guess I don’t know my exact question but I don’t want to tell her I have an issue and I don’t want to tell her I’m doing a day challenge. Why does drinking have to be such a deal at things? I also want to act as normal as possible in case I’m the only one blowing this up in my head!
Old 03-13-2018, 01:28 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Don't know how to advise, but your last question intrigued me. I'll bet "drinkers" never ask it, huh? It is never a big deal for those who want to and expect to drink.
Old 03-13-2018, 01:49 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Nikka posted a couple great threads about this recently, maybe you'll find something there:
(hers was about at her six months point, too. Spoiler: She did it!)

https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums...-wineries.html (Bachelorette outing to three wineries..)

https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums...tte-party.html (I didn't drink at a bachelorette party.)

She also posted about the wedding:

https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums...ing-check.html (Sober wedding - Check!)
Old 03-13-2018, 03:42 PM
  # 4 (permalink)