Notices

Struggling with withdrawals

Old 02-25-2018, 04:13 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Struggling with withdrawals

I've been drinking pretty heavily for about 7 years. Always beer, and for the most part I could take a day or two off in between, but almost always daily and at least a 6 pack in a session, more on the weekends. Started out because I was self medicating my social anxiety. It's gotten progressively worse.

In the past couple months I've been unemployed I tend to have closer to 15-20 drinks,. Between being sick and hungover and drunk I'm basically useless.

I really want to quit, and I've made a conscious decision to, but on those nights when I'm sober in between drinking I feel like I'm dying. I try to sleep, and every time I fall asleep it's more lucid than anything and 15 minutes later I spring out of bed with an adrenaline rush so intense I feel like I'm having a heart attack. I've tried benadryl and melatonin to sleep but it doesn't seem to help much.

I feel like the withdrawals may be life threatening at this point, because I've had palpitations and sporadic afib's in the past. It's scary thinking that I could wake up to a fatal heart attack at 30 because I'm trying to stop drinking. I'm not really sure what to do.
Old 02-25-2018, 04:25 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Go see a doc. They can help you detox safely and get longer term help. It was be thing you don’t initially feel like- AA, rehab, but it’s wirth it to get back to being you and having a good/better life.
Old 02-25-2018, 05:37 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

The most important thing right now is your safety. What you are experiencing is very serious. Go to an ER now. John
Old 02-25-2018, 05:39 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Yeah, I agree with axeman, a doc can give you inexpensive meds that you take short-term to mitigate the symptoms.

It's worth it to get safely off.
Old 02-25-2018, 07:13 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Please go to the doctor and explain to them what you are experiencing. Your life is important.