Notices

Trying to quit weed after 16 years

Old 02-15-2018, 07:50 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Trying to quit weed after 16 years

Hi,
I figured I would write my first post here. I'm not even sure what to say, this is the very first forum that I have ever posted on for help with my problem. I guess I will give some info about me. I have been smoking for 16 years pretty much nonstop, all day every day. I quit a total of 4 times during the 16 years, 2 times when I was pregnant/nursing with my kids. I quit for 5 months last year starting in March, but I relapsed (I started drinking more (tequila) and thought I could control only smoking during certain times like weekends or late in the evenings or just occasionally). After this I picked up smoking again after work and throughout the evenings. Then I quit for 2 weeks starting about 4 weeks ago. After this i began smoking again. Now I am struggling to quit again. I so desperately want to quit for good like forever for good.

I find that it helps to read about others successfully quitting and how much better my life can be. I read stories of people quitting for years and years and hope someday I can also do the same.

Also - my husband still smokes and doesn't feel the urgency and need to quit like I do, so I struggle to quit alone while he is out in the shed smoking. I feel like he would just continue to smoke every day and be fine with this for the rest of his life. I cannot keep doing this however. I have to quit without him and before him so I can have the strength and patience he needs from me to quit. He says he wants to quit but I think he is happy to keep smoking.

Anyhow I just rambled on there. Maybe someone else is going through the same thing.
Old 02-15-2018, 08:16 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome sleepsmiles

I quit after 30 years - it was hard but possible.I had to make some changes in my life but it was worth it

You'll find a lot of support here.