Notices

Sobriety in the corporate world

Old 02-13-2018, 06:58 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Sobriety in the corporate world

A little over 3 weeks sober here. I feel good. Does anyone here work in the corporate world, and have long term sobriety?

I work in sales within the pharmaceutical space. Part of my job consists of work trips, conferences, and client lunch/dinners. All of these activities historically involved a lot of alcohol. I have been stressing out big time over a couple upcoming business trips. I want to stay sober.

Anyone else here no what I'm talking about? Im curious to hear from people who have had successful corporate careers, and being able to abstain from the constant drinking that typically comes with these types of careers.
Old 02-13-2018, 07:13 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Not quite in your situation, but similar. I attend a few big trade industry meetings (open bars, cocktail socials, working dinners, etc). Yeah, right now I skip a lot of that stuff, and focus on networking the actual conference, and setting hard end times on the dinners (“I want to facetime my family before they go to sleep”) before they get too boozy.
Old 02-13-2018, 07:24 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I'm not there yet but I share in your curiosity/concerns. I'm an attorney and so much of my work ends up being out of court, at events, meeting people etc. It's a tough environment to abstain as well.

Good topic, thanks for bringing it up.
Old 02-13-2018, 07:31 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I work in a very conservative business. My experience is that the marketplace definitely rewards sobriety.
Old 02-13-2018, 08:22 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Forum Leader