Notices

New to the forum

Old 02-02-2018, 03:57 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New to the forum

Hello all,

Am glad to have found this forum and looking forward to reading more of the content available here. This is my first time signing up for an addiction recovery-related forum, but I figure it would be good for me to reach out and interact with others in similar circumstances.

As for me, I made up my mind to stop drinking in June 2017 and have proven successful at staying away from alcohol except for one mini "relapse" a week ago, which only served to remind me why I hate drinking these days. All pain and no gain. So, I'm back to my plan of keeping alcohol out of my mouth and remain confident in my ability to stick to my conviction well into the foreseeable future.

Currently am 36 years old and developed problems with drinking over time, though I doubt I ever had a particularly healthy relationship with alcohol. Am the type who won't stop at just a couple drinks, or if I do one night I certainly won't remain moderate in days that follow. Didn't hit full-on rock bottom, but got close enough in terms of screwing up relationships and wasting money and feeling awful and guilty and taking numerous risks over the years. Not proud of that progressively-declining time in my life. And drinking certainly doesn't improve feelings of depression either.

So, that's where I'm at currently. Looking forward to reading more from all of you on here.

Thanks,

Byenia
Old 02-02-2018, 04:33 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome to SR Byenia - great to have you here

D
Old 02-02-2018, 04:34 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome, Byenia!

We are so glad to have you join us and congrats on your sober time. It's fantastic that you're moving forward on your sober journey, and by coming here and reading and posting, you will find very sound support.