Notices

rock bottom

Old 01-18-2018, 02:42 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

rock bottom

newbie here.. just have gotten to the point where it's clear alcohol is controlling my life. it's not fun anymore, i have a constant sense of shame and regret. the depression has gotten bad as well. just not sure how i made it to this point in my life, i've always probably drank too much but it was just on the weekends, now it's pretty much every day. have gotten the shakes, have had the dry heaving have gone days without eating.

i've tried to stop before but it's so hard with how every single social activity involves alcohol. but now i'm just so ashamed i've been closing myself off from the world and all the things i used to do and enjoy, easier to just stay in and have another drink.

i'm not really sure what the point of my post is but i just want to get better and any words of encouragement or advice would mean a lot. it's hard just admitting this.
Old 01-18-2018, 02:44 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome!
I was feeling this exact way this time last week. I'm a week sober, and I can guarantee you that you will find support and encouragement here. Everyone is so smart and nice, and a brighter future is right around the corner.
Old 01-18-2018, 02:48 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Glad you are here- and glad you shared where your thoughts are about not wanting to live like this anymore. You don't have to, and lots of us are around here with I bet the same feelings, situations, worries, etc etc that you have.

My program is AA - and it began with the first meeting and a commitment to more. I went and listened for quite awhile- I finally went after far too long railing against the program (without real basis- I just wanted to keep drinking). It saved my life. Other people have success with different plans of action (SMART, AVRT, and such)- the key thing those of us in recovery have in common is just that- a plan of action to get, stay and thrive sober.