Notices

So here I am.....

Old 10-31-2004, 08:42 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
young, angry, and poor...

So here I am.....

Hi Everyone,
I'm a newbie here. My name is layne and I'm an alcoholic and an mj/painkiller addict. I've been in and out of meetings and through several rehab programs and have bottomed out once or twice. I haven't done drugs in 3 months now, but I still drink.....not every day and not always until I get drunk, but I drink nonetheless. I'm not happy about that fact, but I'm sober today and thats all I really care about right now. I'm not real sure why I'm here, none of my recovery efforts seem to ever pan out....I guess I'm here because its not just for me anymore. My drinking and drugging has hurt my friends and family in the past and that pains me, but not as much as seeing the person that I love cry because I won't talk to her but pick up a bottle instead. I can handle a lot and I can weather almost anything but her tears and pleas are too much for me to bear. So here I am. I need help and support and people who understand, I need these things so that I can put down the bottle forever. I hope to find these things here, and I hope to never drink again and to never see my loved ones hurt by my drinking again. I guess I'll close up with a question....Can anyone help me understand why in the midst of sobriety I feel so scatterbrained, scared, and vulnerable? Things just seem so much harder, or is it just that I now have the presence of mind to notice? Thanks for being here and I look forward to meeting you all.

layne
Old 10-31-2004, 09:08 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi Layne,