Notices

Anoxic Brain Injury from Opiate Overdose

Old 12-29-2017, 08:47 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Anoxic Brain Injury from Opiate Overdose

Hello I am new to this but I need to find some answers if possible. Before I joined this site I was reading a few post from people talking about their loved ones suffering brain damage after overdosing on opiates. Yesterday, December 28th 2017, I found my daughter lying face down on her bedroom floor unconscious. I ran to her and turned her over but I could tell immediately that she wasn't breathing! I screamed for her dad and together we started CPR and managed to get the ambulance to our home. Well she has been in a coma since she got to the hospital about 32 hours now. I have spent most of that time ,when I'm not at the hospital, reading anything I can find on the internet about Anoxic Brain Injury. I think what I really need to do is chat with anyone who knows first hand about this. If you read this and have gone through something like this would you please reply back. I am absolutely heart broken and have know clue what the future holds for my daughter and my family as well. As far as we can piece together everything we think she was not breathing for close to 5 or 10 minutes which sounds pretty bad to me but I don't have a clue. Please any information would help me right now I would really appreciate it.
Old 12-29-2017, 08:55 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I'm so sorry to hear this ... I will pray for you daughter xxx big hugs xx try not to google to much.
Old 12-29-2017, 09:08 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Daisy - I'm sorry for what you're dealing with,

I've had several brain injuries - one at birth, several accidents and then mini strokes at my last detox - tho none through opiates and none where I was put in a coma.

I'm obviously not a Dr but I am testament to the fact that the human spirit is a pretty amazing thing, and that the brain can, in some cases, be very resilient.