Notices

New to Recovery

Old 12-21-2017, 10:16 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New to Recovery

Hi, I’m new to recovery and addictions. Today is my 4 year anniversary and I just kicked out my husband again who is an alcoholic. It is very scary and I feel so much guilt for doing this.
My heart is broken, but this addiction is taking its toll on my life. I’m close to losing my job. I’m not who I used to be. (Even as I’m writing this, my husband is drunk calling me)
I don’t want to live like this anymore. It’s hard to differentiate between not wanting to be with him and not wanting the behavior to continue. Ultimately I do want him to be healthy, but at the same the same I can’t be around him and go through relapse after relapse anymore.
I have learned my own coping behaviors which are not healthy, and after 4 years it has taken its toll on me and my health. I’m stressed and anxious all the time.
I never thought I’d be in this situation. I’ve never dealt with addiction in any form before I got married. At First I was strong to deal with it, but now I’m struggling to find strength to stand my ground.
That’s why I joined this forum. I know I’m not the only one going through this, but I feel so alone.
Old 12-21-2017, 10:22 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I'm an alcoholic who is on Day 20 of recovery.

In March my wife cried so hard and begged me to stop. Even then I couldn't do so properly and I love her so much.

I have no advice to give you as I am so new to recovery myself. All I can say is:

a) He has to want to stop regardless of what ever anyone else says
b) You're not alone on here.

Love from the UK
Old 12-21-2017, 10:40 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and welcome Gaming Cat

I'm sorry for what brings you here but you will find support and understanding here, both in this forum and our Family and Friends forums as well.

You're not alone

D
Old 12-22-2017, 03:28 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Blue Belt

Game,