Notices

When does it stop..

Old 12-12-2017, 09:54 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy When does it stop..

I didn't go to work today, I had a headache, I was up drinking last night, more than a bottle of wine. It's summer here and the weather has been fantastic but I have used it as an excuse to drink and relax, what a joke.. I 'normally' was having about 2 glasses/half a bottle every night but now I'm having close to a bottle a day and sometimes more. This is where I was 8 years ago, I don't want it too get back there again. I've only done sobriety on my own for about 6 weeks, had a longer stint but it was controlled by my partner at the time..
I'm trying to study and it's not working, it doesn't match as I'm studying natural medicine and I shouldn't be an alcoholic...
Today is definitely a non drinking day which I don't have many of, I could call it Day 1 but I'm scared to do so as I have many occasions coming up where drinks are involved and worried I would cave, however I can't keep going like this..
How do I avoid drinking if I have to go out?
Old 12-12-2017, 10:02 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Would you drink bleach? Y’know, pour a big glass of bleach and sip it?

... no, you wouldn’t. Because it’s poison.

Alcohol is poison too.

I’ve literally trained myself to understand that alcohol is equal to bleach is equal to poison. Why would I drink something that would kill me? Why would you?!

Alcohol and “us” don’t go together. It must be avoided. Also, it makes it a lot easier when you understand that it’s poison.

I’m poison-free going on 170 days now.
Old 12-12-2017, 10:05 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

You don't have to go out do you?

I'm not being trite or condescending. I'm asking a genuine question because the first thing I did when I started this period of sobriety (and I hope it's the last time I ever have to start again) was I cancelled every Christmas party and social engagement I had in the diary.