Notices

5 months sober and have questions...

Old 12-11-2017, 05:27 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

5 months sober and have questions...

First of all, I have been drinking every day for the last 13 years; anywhere from 7-12 drinks daily. I tried to quit several times since then but only for around 45 days each attempt. At those times, I had no anxiety when I quit. About 4 years ago my mom passed and I had to take care of my dad for nearly 1.5 years until he passed in March, 2015. In order to cope with the stress I started drinking at 7 am and continued throughout the day probably ammasing 12 drinks or so. Even after my dads passing I continued this pattern of drinking until I quit July 17, 2017. Unfortunately this time around I have struggled with anxiety every day. I’m trying to do this without medication but it’s been hell. My question is has anyone here sought medication after quitting and for how long were you on it? Also were you able to successfully wean off of it without the anxiety returning? I would welcome any inputs!
Old 12-11-2017, 05:30 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

There is nothing wrong with taking anxiety meds if you need them. I have a super open relationship with my GP and I take them, both during my drinking and after, but I usually only need to take them one week a month (sorry if TMI) Since quitting, I am taking them a bit more frequently, they help.
Old 12-11-2017, 05:52 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thanks for your response. I know there could be no definitive answer, probably gonna just have to try meds but I’m also concerned about addiction to them.
Old 12-11-2017, 05:58 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I wasn't "okay" at five months but I noticed a big improvement in my anxiety at about 10 months. I've done it all med-free. Meds in the past have caused me trouble.