Notices

Hi I’m new to recovery

Old 12-03-2017, 02:29 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi I’m new to recovery

I lost my partner of years this past earlier . I was sober at the time. I live in Dallas Fort Worth Texas and have had a hard time staying sober. But, I was able to turn it around and maintain my sobriety. But now being alone and sober is hard. I’m new to the area and I have been kinda depressed so I hadn’t gone to a AA meeting. I don’t have any friends and it’s just been hard to go to a meeting. It kinda feels “good” to be isolated, but I know what that means. I am a gay male who is in my mid 40s and I just honestly does want friends and sobriety and to be able to handle the loss of a partner and maintain my sobriety and not let my addiction win.
Old 12-03-2017, 02:35 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome Sam

I'm sorry for your loss. This is a place of great support - I hope you'll find this community of help

D
Old 12-03-2017, 02:49 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

Welcome to the family. You'll find lots of support here.
Old 12-03-2017, 03:31 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I am with you. It is hard handling sobriety in the face of a loss. I haven't succeeded but going to try again. There is more to lose with drinking.
Old 12-03-2017, 04:18 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

I'm sorry for your loss. I've lost friends in sobriety, but after the initial mourning, and I mean not soon after, I was able to rebound and get back to a regular life.
And by regular, I mean with a hole in my heart and feeling like a piece of me is missing.
I still feel that way after a few years. Their loss changed me, but I remained sober.
My advice would be to take your time and heal. I know how hard that is, but it's nothing picking up a drink will make better.
Best to you and you have my sympathy. You're not alone.
Old 12-03-2017, 04:21 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Administrator

Sam, Welcome, and I'm sorry for your loss.

You can do this!
Old 12-03-2017, 05:46 PM
  # 7 (permalink)