Why Follow the Rules?

Old 10-29-2004, 12:20 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Why Follow the Rules?

I have always followed the rules - my whole life.

I stop at yellow lights, I slow down in school zones. I put my children's needs before my own. My house is always clean. Dinner is always on the table. I'm kind to people - even when they aren't kind to me. I send birthday cards, I say please and thank you. I studied hard and got good grades. I never lusted after another man during my marriage, let alone consider an affair. I never go to the express lane with more than 10 items. I committed the SR rules to memory before my first post. I don't wear white after Labor Day. I report everything on my tax return. I always stop after two glasses of wine. I spell check, I balance my checkbook.

It seems to me that following the rules has gotten me nowhere. I've followed every rule in every book. I'm now 44 years old and alone with kids almost grown. Half of the money I've saved for college and retirement is not mine anymore. I've gone from having plenty of money to obsessing about paying the bills.

I'm not sorry that I left my husband. I can't imagine going back to that. I just don't understand why my life has turned out like this. I'm a good person. I work hard at being a good person. How is this my reward?
Sorry - just feeling sorry for myself today. :-)
L
Old 10-29-2004, 12:32 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
{tap}{tap}...Is this thing on?

Lorelai,

Following the rules has given you a way to help your kids through college and you to retirement. Saved a few staggling elementary schoolers from becoming the "top story" on the evening news. Kept food on your table. Kept the express line moving. Helped to fund some Smart Start programs. Kept another mother from having to join the local chapter of MADD. Kept you from working 40+ hours a week at some dead-end, minimum wage job. And saved us from the Dog awful bad grammar moment.

I'd say that the world could use a whole lot more folks like you.