Notices

3 days

Old 11-17-2017, 11:54 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

3 days

Hey everyone! I’m on day 3 of no alcohol! This will be my 4th attempt at giving this up. I am not knocking AA but it doesn’t seem to work for me so I’m wondering if online support could help do the trick. I’m starting to see a therapist next Wednesday and he specializes in addiction and does hypnotherapy. I was wondering if anyone has tried this and how it worked! Thanks in advance.
Old 11-17-2017, 01:46 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Hears The Voice

Welcome to SR!

I never tried hypnotherapy, but it was on my list of things to try if nothing else was working for me! Keep in touch and let us know how it goes.
Old 11-17-2017, 02:42 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Hello and welcome. You'll find a lot of support here.
Never tried that therapy. I hope it helps you.
Old 11-17-2017, 03:41 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and welcome Kourtney

I have no experience with hypnotherapy but you'll find a lot of support and good ideas here

D
Old 11-17-2017, 07:20 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Greetings. I'm on night three (since historically I'd only drink at night that's how I think of it).

A few years back, I went to an AA meeting and never went back. Everyone's experience was so much more dramatic and even terrifying than mine. People who were drunk for days at a time, who'd completely mislaid company vehicles because they were so drunk, people who'd had serious run-ins with the law because of their drinking.

Me? I'd get drunk most every night on either wine or vodka while watching TV programs or a movie and then I'd toddle off to bed.

Not convinced you need to go to AA meetings, but that has been the model for decades, so I can't knock it. On the other hand, with the advent of the internet, there are other kinds of support such as this forum.