Notices

Newbie here... on Day Two. Again.

Old 09-30-2017, 07:36 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newbie here... on Day Two. Again.

Good morning.....

I really don't know where to start. My head is throbbing from a week of drinking that finally caught up with me yesterday. Vomited in my office and all, before I finally made an excuse to go home.

I've been drinking pretty heavily for years... through an otherwise lovely 7-year marriage, divorce and four years following. I started drinking very heavily during our marriage, and thought I'd stop after we divorced.

Nope! Turns out, I've found alcohol to be my "crutch" for the past 4 years. It's the only thing that turns my stress "off." For some reason, the hangovers have been insufficient to make me quit for more than a few days.

Meanwhile, I am experiencing a crumbling life. I'm normally a tidy person, but my house is a disaster after the past week of drinking every night. My finances are also a mess, and I think I'm going to have to file for bankruptcy. I'm a professional, but my billable time is slipping uncontrollably since I'm hung over every day. And then there are the blackouts, oh my.

I need to stop. I know. And I hear it often, from my mother, my ex, my good friends. I can't simply "lay off" and drink reasonably... which really ticks me off!!!!! And I'm so bored when I'm not drinking.

And so, I'm here. Hoping that I can get help and healing among a community, and also give back to it whenever I'm well enough to do so!! It's been interesting so far to read your stories and to relate to them so much. We are not alone. And for that I'm very grateful!
Old 09-30-2017, 07:59 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

So.

Are you willing to not drink today? It sounds like you've suffered enough. Are you ready to stop beating yourself up?

I think you deserve better, Churlishgirl.
Old 09-30-2017, 08:49 AM
  # 3 (permalink)