Notices

New to the Forum and 7 months in

Old 09-23-2017, 04:23 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New to the Forum and 7 months in

Hello lovely people!

I have decided to join the forum after a having a relatively successful quitting of alcohol process. My reasons are that even after this amount of time my cravings and triggers can sometimes be a little over powering and finding people to talk about it that have any idea about what I'm going through is tough. I quit on my own with the driving force on creating a new, better life for myself after my Mum passed away. I'm currently studying as a counselor (first year) and have a wonderful girlfriend that understands the best she can. My life is tip top in most areas but there is certainly an issue with any interpersonal issues or stress/boredom causing me to feel the need to drink to properly communicate with my emotions and settle the noise in my mind. I'm just about to start weekly therapy which I think will be hugely beneficial as I am a firm believer that my attraction to alcohol is based in aspects of my childhood and various traumas. I suffer with depersonalization disorder which comes with the added bonus of anxiety and OCD. All of which pushed my drinking into complete destruction. I switched to using kratom to aid my recovery which worked great, however now I'm off everything now and the itch is a bit of a bitch!

So, hello! That's ma story.

Peace

J
Old 09-23-2017, 04:36 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Sounds like you have it together for an alcoholic. You are going to love SR! I wish you well on your journey!
Old 09-23-2017, 05:00 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome
Old 09-23-2017, 05:01 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Welcome!

This place has some real good advice, help and lots of stories. Iam new here also and finding the information I gather very helpful and useful.
Old 09-23-2017, 05:17 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
nmd

Welcome!

Having this community available has been a huge help for me
Old 09-23-2017, 05:50 AM
  # 6 (permalink)