Notices

Newbie -Dating a recovering alcoholic

Old 09-08-2017, 04:35 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newbie -Dating a recovering alcoholic

Hi everyone - this is my first time on this forum. I'm not sure where to post, but I figured this was as good a place as any. I recently met a guy who seems wonderful. He is on my bodybuilding team and I knew right away that he was in recovery. He has been sober 3 years now. We are both separated from our spouses/proceeding with divorce and have young children. In our state you have to wait 12 months before divorce can be finalized.
Anyway, it started out casual, and soon we discovered we had a lot of common interests. There was also a definite physical attraction on both sides. He really seemed to have it all together. We eventually kissed and it was amazing. Thats as far as the physical aspect went, although we both were interested in much more. lol

Fast forward a few weeks...everything seemed to be going fine... I thought. We were supposed to meet late tonight to spend time together and talk and then he texted me this morning saying that my most recent email had stirred some emotions in him, realizing that he wasn't ready to be involved romantically yet. We had been sharing a lot about each other, really trying to get to know each other....I had written an email about how "intimacy" is something I do not take lightly and that I would need to know that he was "serious" about me before we ever took that step. Almost 2 weeks had gone by since I wrote this.

Anyway, I do respect what he said about needing more time and that he needed to focus on his recovery. He mentioned his relationship (marriage) had been hard and that his kids were not ready for a new relationship either. He said that the physical was something that he cherished as well, and that for both our sakes, he was going to have to step back.