Notices

Alcoholic Voice

Old 08-21-2017, 04:35 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Alcoholic Voice

Hi Everyonethanks,

I'm new to this and feel it's time to make a change. I fuction well 80% of the time but the other 20% can be absolutely disaterous. I have managed to make significant changes over several years but I am still at risk of significant harm when drinking.

I'm interested in understanding more about my 'alcoholic voice'. I can have something horrific happen as the result of alcohol (as it did on Saturday) and still I can feel my resolve slipping and it's like the experience will just slide off me, as it has done in the past. It's terrifying not to learn from such extreme behaviour. I feel like to universe was showing me exactly what I am capable of and yet I still can't accept or properly hear it. Why is that? Why do I lie to myself?

Can anyone help with this as I need to understand?

Thank you for taking the time to read this.

Gabe
Old 08-21-2017, 04:53 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Friendly Folk

The 'AV' is a part of you but, it is not you. It is also referred to as "The Beast". I put it in a cage and don't feed it! It is my enemy and I refuse to let it contol me. I never let it get a chance to have it's say anymore because it is not or ever was my friend.
Old 08-21-2017, 04:58 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I totally relate to your post, could have written it myself.
For me, I needed to go into treatment to 'reset' my thinking and give my mind (and body) time to get some clarity and basically force myself away from alcohol. A few days of no alcohol was not enough for me, I needed 21 days. And it helped a lot!
Once you significantly reduce the brain fog, actually remove all alcohol from your system (can take upwards of 10 days) and put in place some help (cbt therapy, exercise, art, anything really that doesn't involve drinking) you will find that clarity of mind and it will be easier to stop falling back into old and dangerous ways.