Notices

What are your expectations from a therapist?

Old 08-09-2017, 06:38 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

What are your expectations from a therapist?

I'm new to therapy and have my third 45 minute session tomorrow. So far I like the guy and the time flies by. It feels like I just talk a lot and there's no real structure to the process yet. It's just the beginning of course and I know this is a long commitment.

I'd appreciate some thoughts on what your expectations are and how you judge if a therapist is right for you (posting here instead of in the mental health section to hopefully get more input).

I just finished reading "Living The Truth" by Dr. Keith Ablow and here's what he says-

How do you know if you’ve found a good therapist? You’ll find yourself saying things like “I’ve never thought about my life this way before.” “I just feel like I’m seeing things about myself that I haven’t been willing to look at.” I don’t think I’ve really started getting to know myself until now.” Or you’ll find yourself driving home from sessions thinking things like, why haven’t I ever wanted to know exactly why my mother and my father split up? Couldn’t the way they related to each other be affecting my marriage today?” You may suddenly realize the unsupportive person you’re living with reminds you an awful lot of your ex-husband and start to wonder why you keep choosing men who undermine you. If you don’t have these kinds of thoughts within six one hour sessions, try another therapist.

And regardless of who you choose as your listener, make sure you feel challenged, not just comforted by that person. You want someone who will test the truth of your statements by questioning you with a bit of cynical edge when necessary, someone intent on keeping you honest, someone who’ll push you to see things you may still be loath to look at. If talking to the person doesn’t feel like work at least some of the time, then save your breath.