Notices

I feel fine, paranoid but fine.

Old 08-03-2017, 01:46 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I feel fine, paranoid but fine.

I'm two days sober after 14 years of fairly hard drinking. For the last two years it's been 10 or more 16oz beers a night. I've been gearing up to this for a few months, taking a night or two off here and there, with no bad effects.

I've been doing a lot of reading and I never realized the risks of detoxing. I feel fine, better than I would if I had drank last night even. Is it possible to come off alcohol without all the scary side effects? Have any of you done it?
Old 08-03-2017, 01:54 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Learning to Live

I have never detoxed without a medical check up just to be on the safe side. I have read that for some people they don't get withdrawal symptoms until day 4 or 5. Would it be possible to make an appt to be checked out? It would probably help ease your paranoia as well.

My dr also prescribed a benzo on a tapering schedule which helps a lot with the anxiety. It might be worth looking into.
Old 08-03-2017, 01:58 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I have never had help detoxing, apart from feeling low and crap I have been ok, although I will say everyone is different and it may be better to see a doctor, good luck
Old 08-03-2017, 02:34 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
~sb

Medical help will ease your discomfort.
Old 08-03-2017, 04:17 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
The road goes on forever

Originally Posted by kage007 View Post
Is it possible to come off alcohol without all the scary side effects? Have any of you done it?
Other than discomfort .. I had no scary side effects. The worst part though was my brain feeling "fizzy fuzzy" for a while. But that happened after detoxing.
Old 08-03-2017, 04:26 PM
  # 6 (permalink)