Notices

Hello

Old 07-31-2017, 10:00 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello

I'm not sure where to begin. I've been drinking who knows how much for a good five years. In 2017 I admitted I drank too much and needed to quit. I've "quit" about 20 times this year. Sometimes it lasts a week sometimes only one day. I feel like I have a parasite on my brain that makes my body do things I don't even want to do, like picking up a bottle of liquor, then I get home and say why the did I buy that? I don't even want it. And then I don't know why, I get bored, lonely, frustrated and I have a drink. Once I have one, it doesn't affect me so I have another and then I wake up hours later and see an 8 oz or larger bottle is empty. It feels impossible to quit because my husband drinks so much, he doesn't even realize how much I drink. I'm about to get the final push out the door from my job. None of my "friends" ever call me and I'm done being the one to always get in touch with them. Sorry that got a little long.
Old 07-31-2017, 10:19 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Have you ever tried telling your husband any of this? Does he know you want to be sober?
Old 07-31-2017, 11:17 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR, many people have quit just using this forum for support and information. you can too. Quitting is easy, staying quit is a bit more challenging. Make quitting a top priority, it gets easier with time.
Old 07-31-2017, 11:31 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by Sdjfam View Post
Have you ever tried telling your husband any of this? Does he know you want to be sober?
Yes. He will be supportive for a while but when the weekend rolls around he buys himself a case of beer and something for me as well. I've asked him to not buy alcohol for me before... I don't know if he is secretly sabotaging me or if he thinks I'm not serious or if he really doesn't listen when I'm talking to him.
Old 07-31-2017, 11:45 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Administrator