Notices

Hi all, I'm new to this please be gentle,

Old 07-16-2017, 03:54 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi all, I'm new to this please be gentle,

Hi everyone,
I have decided to get off the turps,
I'm 36 yo male from Australia,
A normal day I will do 12-15 beers and twice a week I will have a big session.
Pretty sure it's killing me so have decided to pull the pin,
I have been drinking like this since 16.
I did do 3 weeks last year sober, First 2 weeks were ok but then really struggled.
Have decided to give up completely as I'm getting to the point where I go out for a few beers. The next thing it is a day or 2 later and I don't know where I have been or what I've done.
My wife is a RN and really supportive.
So I'm going to give it a red hot go.
Any support or tips would be appreciated.
I don't smoke. (Apparently this helps)
My wife and kids have healthy life's and eating habits so will jump on that bandwagon,
I do work 10-12 hours a day 6 days a week and this is where I think I will have problems.
Thanks in advance.
Old 07-16-2017, 04:05 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Congratulations on your decision to pursue complete sobriety. You are fortunate to have the support of your wife and that should help create some accountability which is always useful.

You will find lots of support here. Many people will you that it is important to have a plan and will post links on this. It basically aims to help us to stay sober once we have quit, and to ease into a new sober life.

Welcome and keep reading and posting.
Old 07-16-2017, 04:19 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome. You are young and you still have a wife that supports you. You are already ahead of the game. If you quit now you will be amazed at how much better it gets. Again welcome.
Old 07-16-2017, 04:29 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Welcome. I found these forums about 5 months ago and haven't had a drink since. The support here is incredible and I hope it helps you as much as it has helped me.