Notices

Day 8 New Member here

Old 07-10-2017, 06:53 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Day 8 New Member here

Long time alcoholic here on Day 8.... Not to "brag" or anything, but I have tried quitting at LEAST 100 times. 2 stints in Rehab, 2 stints in detox, and many trips to the ER, etc, I am sure that alot of you have been down this same road before as well... I hope that I am not offending anyone, but I am not a fan of AA, as I have had some bad experiences, and will just leave it at that.
This time I was able, through sheer agony, to detox at home without meds, and now after 8 days, am finally starting to feel better. Most of the time, I feel hopeful, even "serene" this go-round, but I have certain parts of the day where my cravings are sooo bad, that I become immediately depressed, and the disease is telling me "screw it....... it isn't worth it.....just have a drink..." To overcome these cravings, I have been staying close to home, avoiding drinking buddies, and exercising alot, but it never seems to be enough.
Should I be considering Naltrexone? Or perhaps seeing a therapist?? I went on anti-depressants once before in this situation, starting drinking again WHILE ON THE MEDS, and nearly lost my mind withdrawing from them, so not sure that I would entertain that idea again....lol
Any thoughts are welcome, and thank you in advance!
Old 07-10-2017, 07:48 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
The road goes on forever

Hey - Carlsbrad... I've been to SCal and really liked the area you are in.... Def a lot mellower than LA.

Anyways. GREAT going on Day 8. Brag Brad... It's OK!

I cannot comment on the medical questions.
This is something you should speak to Doctor.

But you know.. you will feel and better without Alcohol...
Exercise is wonderful too...

Have a great DAY!
Old 07-10-2017, 09:04 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

welcome- lots of meetings, do stuff- get a counsellor.
Old 07-10-2017, 01:33 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by MidnightRider View Post