Notices

Advice on an important decision

Old 06-30-2017, 05:17 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Advice on an important decision

Hi all,

I'm not a newbie to recovery, in fact I've been trying to get off of opiates since I started over 13 years ago, and have been addicted to weed since I was 17. But I now find myself in a bit of bother (not for the first time of course, as an addict I've been through it all bar a prison sentence) and I was hoping to get other peoples perspectives on the situation, especially from a community such as this one.

So I moved to the Czech Republic in 2013 to escape a full on relapse of my heroin addiction. For months I was using everyday, and luckily some family bailed me out and I jumped on a flight to the Czech Rep to teach English. So long story short, I (fairly) quickly relapsed but with suboxone. It's everywhere here, and I've tried and tried and tried to come off of it, failing every time. I know I need support to get off of opiates, I've known it for a while now, but it's not available here for English speakers (as in NA meetings not professional counselling, which I couldn't afford if I wanted). If I went back to the UK, I know that there are NA meetings all over the place.

But here lies the problem. Street suboxone here is expensive, and I've racked up quite a bit of debt with the social security and health insurance company. If it was a bank debt or creditor debt I wouldn't be so bothered, but it would be a criminal offence to just up and leave. Plus, my landlord would possibly be accountable, as my current address is also registered as my business address, although I'm not sure about that part.