1st time and very long. Have never asked for help.

Old 06-29-2017, 10:50 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

1st time and very long. Have never asked for help.

I am new to this part of having a drug addict brother meaning we have always just almost ignored it as a family. There are 3 years between my brother and I and we were very close as kids. Right around when he was 14 he was diagnosed with type 2 juvenile diabetes. He was very angry about this, did not want to be compliant at all. He always had friends that I knew did drugs. Even in grade school. Pot of course. Then it's like I knew it had escaladed but not to the extent or that I wanted to acknowledge it. Needles were not uncommon to find but then there were some with burnt areas and then bent spoons. So he was in icu in and out from 15 to 20. He received a pancreas transplant how I do not know which maybe I have my timing off because this has gone on for so long and he didn't have diabetes for about a month from that. Then he started doing bad things again. Then his new organ failed, his chest had to be ripped open several different times. All this with my mother never leaving his side. Beating herself up feeling responsible. We then became aware of his drug problem. Still she sat by his side. Even almost missing my baby shower. Which I felt bad about even feeling upset she almost missed it.

My mother is a very strong headed person that likes to control things even still trying to treat me like a child by the way she speaks to me.