Notices

Withdrawing

Old 06-20-2017, 02:04 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
hi i'm sarah

Unhappy Withdrawing

Hey everyone. I'm new to this scene but I just really need to vent. I've quit drinking completely after a few days of a binge fest and I'm really scared. I'm pretty young and high functioning, but I have depression and anxiety. To top it off, alcoholism runs in my family with my dad being a recovered alcoholic and my brother being a current alcoholic. I'm super anxious, sweaty, and my hands feel numb. I go in and out of feeling nauseous. I've really never experienced alcohol withdrawal before. I usually have a drink or two every day, but I've gone periods without drinking for a week or so and have felt fine. I'm just really scared and I want it to go away. Typing this out is making me feel better. This post is so all over the place but I'm!!!! So anxious!!!!!! I know it's all temporary but I don't know what to do except ride it out. And I'm too scared to tell my family or friends about it.
Thanks for your time to anyone who reads this. I'm going to go back to laying down.
Old 06-20-2017, 02:17 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I would suggest you see a doc. W/D can be dangerous- seizures.
Old 06-20-2017, 02:28 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I agree. Withdrawals are nothing to mess with. There's always the ER if you are really worried. John
Old 06-20-2017, 03:51 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
hi i'm sarah

You're both right. I actually just called my parents to talk to them about it and I feel a lot better. I think I was more anxious about admitting that something is wrong. I talked to my dad who hasn't touched a drink in 24 years and got some insight. I don't drink to black out but I drink at night by myself or out and about so it's...I guess a long process of just building up a tolerance and anticipating this at the end of the day has ruined me.
Old 06-20-2017, 03:57 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and welcome CB