Notices

New here and just starting my new life.

Old 06-10-2017, 01:56 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New here and just starting my new life.

Hey all glad to have found this web site because this is my first time going sober. I wasn't the type of drunk who woke up and looked that first drink. To be honest it grossed me out! But ounce evening set in, I'd start drinking eff very night till most cases I'd black out. Waking up not know how I got to bed ect.. people taking funny pics of me passed out on floore or go to turn radio up in car onlyto.psss out slumped over seat ect.. it was embarrassing! I'm not really sure what to expect to be honest. I'm not craving alcohol yet. The part that scares me is not knowing what to do in the evening's. For years I've always been sedated and now it's like a whole new world and I'm not sure how to handle it. I'm keeping busy till I fall asleep. But sometimes that can be 2am or later unless I take something. But I'm bored and start thi king about that glass of wine.
What have some of you done to occupy yourselves? Any ideas are welcome but more than anything is knowing have anyone else felt this way at night? And what can I expect in the coming days/weeks? Especially after blacking out so many times and for about 4 years of drinking that heavy? Any incite would be appreciated as I start this rebuilding of myself and my life. Thanks all!!
Old 06-10-2017, 02:01 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR! You will find lots of support on here. Making plans for the time you would have been drinking helps, especially in the beginning. Go to the gym, take a class, plan to meet up with friends to walk, binge watch a series on Netflix, anything to keep you occupied.

I also spent a lot of time on here as well. Join the June 2017 class, you will have the support of others who also decided to commit or recommit to sobriety this month. Also, pop into the 24 hour thread and check in every day.

Glad you are here.
You can do this.
Old 06-10-2017, 02:09 PM