Need help dealing with breaking up with my ABF

Old 05-27-2017, 09:50 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Need help dealing with breaking up with my ABF

I knew he had a problem with drinking from the begining. We have been together for 10 months. Aside from the drinking, he is an amazing partner in life. Made me loved, cherished and balanced. But then there's the drinking. About 3 months in, we had a very difficult talk about it. I let him know that it was a problem for me and not compatible with my lifestyle. He owned it, but said he was going to have a hard time because it was such a habit for him at this point. I could work with that. The drinking got better, but didn't stop. He always been the kind of drinker that was very controlled and rarely appeared drunk. But I found myself counting how many drinks he had, which I knew was a problem. I said how I felt, and left it to him. Three months later, we had to talk about it again. I'm a professional and don't feel that just because it's Friday, we should be drinking... afterall, I'm 40 and he's 45. He has two kids that he is part time with, and never drinks when their around. But then in March, we talked about it again, and I said that he needed to know, I would never marry an alcoholic because that's not the life I want. Again he owned it, and it got better for a few weeks, but when we got back from Hawaii, it got worse. He would call at 10:30 at nights asking to come over because he was Linley and couldn't be alone. He would share his secrets and how beat down he was by life. He was always drunk. I wanted to be there for him because these are real problems. But not when he's drunk. He was in a bad place and I wasn't ready to fight that particular battle when he was so low. Three weeks ago, he called me slurring his words and I was immediately pissed. The next night I went over after work, and he had 10 drinks. I was more than pissed. He said thanks for putting up with me, I know you're are unhappy with my drinking. i said it