Notices

Back again

Old 05-23-2017, 07:49 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Back again

I find myself back here again after thinking that I could drink moderately after an eight month period of not drinking at all. #fool

I'm back at AA and finding the same thoughts coming to mind that made me drop the program in the past. I feel like a fraud. I believe half of what is said. I know that I cannot commit fully any more this time than the last five times I started this journey.

Has anyone had experience with naltrexone? I'm reading that used in combination with a 12 step program and therapy that it's helping people curb their drinking. Any thoughts?
Old 05-23-2017, 08:10 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome back

I have no experience with AA or naltrexone but a lot of experience with thinking I could drink again.

I confused abstinence for control many times...my liofe was good because alcohol no longer played a part in my life, not because I'd somehow learned control over my drinking.

Without that bottom line acceptance that we have to change, and we can never drink alcohol again if we want a better life, I think anything we try is going to be a bit wobbly.

D
Old 05-23-2017, 08:31 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome back! Sorry to learn about your relapse, BTDT!

I have been taking Naltrexone and I'm also in therapy. Haven't relapsed yet...staying vigilant because it's usually around the 3 month mark that I begin thinking that I can "handle it" again. Not gonna happen THIS time!
Old 05-23-2017, 09:27 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Hi,