Notices

New here

Old 05-10-2017, 11:40 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New here

This is my first time posting on here.
I'm reaching out today because I know I need help.
To start off, I started drinking in high school and was raised by an alcoholic. I dropped out when I was fifteen and started getting into a lot of trouble and dabbling with drugs.
When I got into the restaurant business my drinking really skyrocketed. I have to fight myself not to have a drink and usually give up by the end of my shift. Drinking every day is pretty normalised in the restaurant business but it's seriously ruining my life.
I have told my boyfriend and friends that I am going to quit so many times that it just sounds like a big joke now.
I'm worried that my boyfriend will leave me if I don't get this under control.
I've tried counselling and I've tried taking antabuse but I somehow always end up convincing myself that this time will be better and that I have everything under control. I always go back to drinking.
I'm really freaked out. Am I ever going to get better?
Old 05-10-2017, 11:49 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Well, you're here and that's a great start. Welcome to the forum. There are a lot of similarities in our drinking. I thought I was hopeless. I finally started AA and an addiction therapist. I think that's when I knew I was all in.

There's so much help here. You can do it.
Old 05-10-2017, 11:51 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Hears The Voice

Welcome to SR!!!

Originally Posted by lmeg View Post
I somehow always end up convincing myself that this time will be better
Of all the lies my addiction ever told me, I think I liked this one most. I certainly fell for it enough times. Hundreds, maybe thousands.

Once I realized it was never going to be better. It was never going to be different - that the addicted part of my brain was lying to me - I was able to move on.

You can do this.
Old 05-10-2017, 11:53 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Some years ago, it was my first time posting on here.