Does You Perception Change During Recovery?

Old 10-17-2004, 09:51 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Does You Perception Change During Recovery?

Now that I have been working my program for a few years (more then three), I think about past interactions with my husband's family, and it occurs to me that there were three codependents fighting for control of the whole family. There was me (of course), my mother-in-law, and my sister-in-law all trying to gain our own type of control over everybody else. It made holidays a nightmare.

My sister-in-law is not in the picture anymore (divorced), and that leaves me and my mother-in-law. I have gotton help, but she has not and now I see how co-dependent she is (she is always calling my husband and asking "are you OK", "how was the AA meeting? (are you still going)", "your not drinking are you" or the favorite "where were you and what did you do today" which she asks him everyday to ensure that he is not drinking again.

What I'm wondering is that once you get deep into your recovery, do you start to notice people who a really co-dependent (not that I'm perfect mind you) that you thought were normal before and do they start to really irritate you now that you are in recovery?
Old 10-17-2004, 11:02 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Yes, and I believe it's very normal for your perceptions to change - concerning lots of things.
Working on recovery is an ongoing process. And I think we'd all agree that where we once felt one way - we now feel differently. Therefore, we grow - and we change - and thus see things differently.