Notices

Alone

Old 04-28-2017, 10:27 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Alone

A year ago I began a relationship with a man that is a recovering heroin addict. He has 2 years of sobriety and lives a honest life. He is active in his recovery and this is how he lives his life and the only way.
From the moment we began talking he was 100% truthful with me about his addiction and the dark roads it took him down. When I began talking to him I never planned on falling deeply in love but I did. Although I do not struggle with addiction coincidentally I have my degree in criminal justice and previously worked jobs that were related to addiction.
Before I made the decision to commit to being in a relationship with him I spent a lot of time thinking about the challenges we will face as a couple and the risks that come with dating someone in recovery. I am not naive when it comes to the reality that relapse could happen. With all of this being said I chose to pursue this relationship with this man and we plan on building a future together.
Out of all the challenges I knew we may face together one that I did not prepare myself for was being entirely cut off from my entire family and life long friends...friendships with 20+ years . I was open and honest about my boyfriends recovery and past and they have wanted nothing more than for me to break up with him . The first few months my relationships with them were okay snd we just didn't really discuss him. As the months passed I would hear less from my friends and family and now 6 months later I have been completely cut off from everyone. I have reached out to my friends , made phone calls, texted, and no one will even talk to me. I'm angry, hurt, and cannot believe this is how they are acting . I never thought that people that were my best friends were so close minded, shallow , and judgmental . I'm torn on where to go from here. My boyfriend is understanding but I know it hurts him at the same time.