Notices

New and Terrified

Old 04-24-2017, 05:25 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New and Terrified

As the title states, I'm new to this and am terrified. For a while now I've been thinking of what life was like before I started drinking and I want to go back to that way.

I should say a little bit about myself first. I am 28 years old, have been drinking for about 9 years now. From Canada, never drank underage or in high school. After high school I went to study Automotive Technology and am currently a journeyman mechanic.

Having said that, for some reason the last few months I keep having thoughts and visions of what it used to be like to wake up early on a nice summers morning and not be groggy, have blurred vision, feel the need to hiss at light bulbs or the sun and feel like I'm 3 feet thick, but instead feel wide awake, aware and crisp. (if that makes any sense at all) And to be able to enjoy the evenings without a bottle of rum and perhaps be out by a fire, relaxing, looking up at the stars (with clear vision for a change so I actually see them). I have an old car that needs work as well so a nice warm evening to spend some time in the garage doing some work on that in the fresh air is very appealing to me as well.

I have realized I am starting to forget what it's like to drive at night in the evenings now because I'm usually too intoxicated to drive. Which is sad. I know people have to grow up eventually but I feel as if I went backwards after college. I feel as if I was a responsible high school student and after college I started to drink and threw my better judgement out the window when in fact the opposite should be the case.

If anyone can relate to any of this I would love to hear from you!

Thanks!
Old 04-24-2017, 05:42 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
waking down