Alcoholic mom, new to no contact

Old 04-24-2017, 07:18 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Alcoholic mom, new to no contact

I'm new to no contact. At first I didn't like it, but now I am getting used to it. It has been two weeks.

NOTHING WORKS when you're dealing with a person like my mom. Set boundaries. That's a joke. Don't call when she's using. Well, the only time she's not drinking is when she's at work, and she's not really allowed to talk on the phone there. I believe her to be suffering from some sort of untreated mental illness(es) as well as alcoholism. The rules the nice little therapist tells you to try go right out the window when dealing with someone like my mother. I don't know what else to do besides not talking to her.

The thing is, she crossed a line. I know, I know, this woman has been crossing societal lines since she came into the world in 1949, but this was just too much. Apparently, since my father died in 2014, she has decided she hates him, and is trying to convince us that she's secretly hated him all along. This is so absurd I can't even deal with it on any level.

So, one random day, we are on the phone and she's engaging in the usual self-sympathy talk (I have nothing to live for, my life is over, etc- feels GREAT to hear when she has you and your sister and four grandchildren who, somehow, still love her). I've just had it with this sort of thing. I can't deal with this anymore since my 23 year old friend had to undergo a double lung transplant in December (her second) and now needs new kidneys. And my other friend died suddenly of a massive heart attack last summer at 50. Life is so short, and here is someone who has a pretty good life, wasting it on a beautiful day nonetheless. So I mentioned that, unlike my father at the end, she can still walk, eat, move around, live at home, etc... Her response was, "Everything that happened to him, he deserved."