Notices

Almost 30 days and freaking out a little...

Old 04-13-2017, 03:35 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Almost 30 days and freaking out a little...

Hey guys,

This Saturday coming will be day 30 for me which is the longest period of time I think I've ever had without alcohol since my early 20's, so will give myself a pat on the back for that.

However...I'm a school teacher here in NZ and we now have a two week break for end of term 1. It's Thursday evening here right now, not even on the first day of my holiday and I'm already freaking out about the temptation to drink whilst on holiday but especially because I will be going home to my parents place to stay for a few days which I am dreading to be honest.

I am close with my parents (only child here), but I don't know how to explain this without it being an essay...BUT I have always felt a lot of pressure from them to make something of myself and you know...be an upstanding citizen that has a great career, and has all the friends, and the boyfriend etc. They have always pushed me to be the best I can be which I KNOW comes from a good place, but I think it often comes across as them being really hard on me right? And I am also incredibly hard on myself - always have been - I guess because I learned it from them!

So I find it hard to be honest with them about what's going on with me. I've struggled with depression and anxiety for a looooong time and have gone through some very hard lows with that which my parents have never really handled that well. My Mum tends to worry a lot and she doesn't really understand people who get depression - she just soldiers on through anything. She seems to view it as a weakness I guess, and I don't believe it is that, so I don't really feel like she gets me. We are very different and butt heads in a lot of ways.