Notices

Hi-I just want to introduce myself

Old 10-15-2004, 07:25 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi-I just want to introduce myself

I am a 30 year old Professional Female (until recently when I lost my job).Why? because I work in the Medical Field and was in the Hospital for 6 days- and one of the Dr's I work for HATES Alcoholics..I had pnuemonia, a staph infection- after my boyfriend and I returned from Vacation in Key West. Some have a 2-3 day bender-I had a 2 WEEK bender. I left the Hospital convinced I would not drink again..Did I ? Of Course. I saw soo many Dr's in that 6 days-they told me I looked 16-I probaly looked pathetic laying there soo sick and my Primary Dr (whom I know very well-told me it never fails to amaze him how some can drink very heavily for 40 Years and are fine but the past 3 years I have drank-Moderate-Heavy and I almost died!).

Both Parents have had drinking issues and I don't understand why this disease has snuck up, tried (almost) killed me and I can't let it go..
I need Friends and help! NO Family support-they think it's all MY fault. My Boyfriend (who is in complete denial) cannot understand or comprehend how such a pretty, smart (yeah right!) College graduate could have a problem. Oh, I am soo clever at hiding things..
Old 10-15-2004, 07:51 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi Cindi, and welcome. There are many good people here with wonderful success stories. Coming here has really been helping me, so you've made a good choice in posting. You will receive much love and support here, and no judgment against you.

I too am a "pretty, smart, college educated" woman who is clever at hiding things... and it has to stop. The hiding and dishonesty will destroy our spirits just as surely as alcohol will destroy our bodies.

Good luck in your recovery - keep coming here, it helps.

Take care of yourself.
Old 10-15-2004, 08:40 AM
  # 3 (permalink)