Notices

Life Advice From (Sir) Anthony Hopkins

Old 04-06-2017, 02:37 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Do your best

Life Advice From (Sir) Anthony Hopkins

What experience most changed your life?

Like a lot of actors, I was a dull student. I couldn’t concentrate. In those days, the schoolmasters used to slap us around, so I accumulated a lot of resentment for authority figures and thought, “Well, screw you,” and made my own course in life.

What’s the best survival skill you know?

I like food, but I got tired of being heavy, so I went on a really good regime of eating healthy and exercising for an hour a day and lost 80 pounds over 10 months. I’m not a nutty, macrobiotic kind of guy, but I enjoy being alive.

What should every man know about money?

It’s best not to get involved with the power and prestige of money. Treating people with contempt and rudeness is unspeakable. I see this in the movie industry all the time. The main thing to remember is that we all end up in the same dust cart at the end of the walk.

What’s the best advice you’ve ever received?

I was living in London during the Cuban missile crisis. I called my father and told him I was worried about nuclear holocaust. He said, “It’s okay because it will be over in a flash in London and you won’t feel a thing. If you were still in Wales, you’d suffer from the fallout.” I got a big relief from that.

What book should every man read?

There is a book by Theodore Rubin called Compassion and Self-Hate. It’s not a self-help book, but it is, in a way. It’s a look inside the darkness of the human soul — how we get sucked into giving ourselves a bad time and how we can actually talk ourselves away from that.

What movie should every man see?